Thin Ice


“Be careful where you tread,” she said,
“Steer clear of the thin ice.
“Make your steps light, ” she begged,
“So you make it safely to my side tonight.”

So I set out so very cautiously,
But it was terribly cold night.
I forgot to step carefully,
Then I trod on the thin ice.

The freezing water tightly seized me,
I was helpless in its icy grip.
Down I was dragged as my
Last breath from my lungs was ripped.

As I floundered I felt my body stiffen,
My heart slowed then began to freeze.
Trapped in the watery prison,
My life ebbed away from me.

So now I float stuck between life and death,
Blue lips stuck in a silent scream.
Black fingernails scrape the ice
Frost crystals crack in my bloodstream.

And if through the ice I see you pass by,
I’ll bring you back to me tonight.
The last thing you’ll feel are my fingers grasping you,
Then pulling you to me through the thin ice.

Another poem inspired by the current run of Dr Who, here’s a link to my other who poems
Smile
The Girl with a Star in her Eye

3 thoughts on “Thin Ice

Leave a Reply

