Poem for my Daughter on her Eighth Birthday


daughter-at-8-yearsold

Where did those eight years go?
When did our time spent together seem to move at the speed of light?
Vanishing so quickly that the present rapidly becomes memory.

When did you grow so much?
So my back creaks and arms ache when I pick you up,
Remembering when I once lifted you with ease.

When did we start to like the same TV programs?
Laughing like drains at the Cartoon Network.
Yet I used to flee the room if you put on “In the Night Garden.”

When did you become such a sponge for knowledge?
Devouring books and enjoying historical stories.
Making me rack my brains at your questions before I resort to Google.

When did you become so graceful?
Twisting and pirouetting while watching Strictly,
While I with my leaden feet look on in awe.

I know where our eight years went.
They passed quickly because enjoyment always will.
Time never stands still when a father is with the daughter he loves.

2 thoughts on “Poem for my Daughter on her Eighth Birthday

Leave a Reply

