My Guide to Packing for a Holiday


Hesitantly I Google next weeks weather.
Placing my trust in the digital forecast,
I hold its images sacred
As I begin my holiday packing.

I hunt down old wellies,
Finding them hiding under the stairs.
Next to optimistic sandals,
Which still have the price tag on.

I wonder that if I pack sun tan lotion
Then the weather gods will smite me with rain.
But can I run the risk of having none
And my body slowly turning a patchy lobster-red.

Don’t forget the chargers I think,
Finding them in their usual plugs.
Their electrical umbilicals
Restoring life to my phone.

Phone, I can’t go on holiday without that,
It would be like leaving an arm behind.
It’s a Sat Nav, my weather forecaster
And connection to the world.

With all the packing gathered,
Like a tired magician who knows only one trick.
I force my holiday gear,
Into a suitcase that looks too small.

I place the bulging case in the car boot,
Ignoring the precarious roof rack.
As what if the case bursts open and
My underpants cause a tailback.

My holiday awaits, hope I packed enough.

 

So with those wise words I’m off on my hols, normal service will be resumed the 1st August, take care folks.

5 thoughts on “My Guide to Packing for a Holiday

Leave a Reply

