Housman & Me


Two great poets I’m proud to know are caretaking Poetry Corner this month and are off to an interesting start. Read on and follow them to see more.

Splayed like winter twigs –

my mother’s calligraphics

were tacked onto the wall.

I repeated the lines like ghosts

replaying a moment –

chewed on the words.

While the kids at school

had badges, hairbands, pencil cases,

emblazoned with their names.

A slither in a book,

found one lifeless afternoon –

its letters, stars in my eyes.

To think!

That I was the ‘loveliest of trees’,

charming in my Easter bloom.

‘To see the cherry hung with snow’,

reminded me of how I was named –

for all seasons of life.

Blossom in my brain,

my mother sat and scribed the verse

for my bedroom wall.

Housman’s cherry tree,

‘About the woodland’ and on the page,

captivated him and me.

Published in The Poetry of Shropshire, Offa’s Press, 2013

Cherry tree
Extract from Housman’s poem in Cherry’s bedroom as a child.

View original post

Leave a Reply

