The Weight of Words


The Weight of Words

the weight of wrods

I’m carrying a poet’s briefcase,
Its weight makes my arms drag.
Curious as to the contents I ask the poet,
“It contains poetry dear boy, ” he replies.
So now I know what words weigh,
And I never thought they would be a burden.
As carrying poetry makes my back ache,
And has me gasping for breath.
So I have an idea and stop,
What if I was to open the case?
What if I set free the poetry within?
Imagine the words floating away
Caught by everyone around.
Who suddenly find joy in them.
Then my burden would be shared
Everyone carrying part of it
Because when it comes to poetry
Surely it’s better to share?

Like the poem ? Why not buy my book, just click here.

It’s great to share and if you have enjoyed this poem why not share it with your fellow poets or friends. I don’t mind in fact I encourage sharing on Facebook, Twittter or where ever you fancy – just use the buttons below – all I ask is you please credit this site when you do so. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

