Odd Thoughts on a Tuesday


I blame my intake of Soundgarden for this poem..

If there is one thing that I’m learning
It’s that as my body’s burning
I had so much to do I just left.

But there is certainly no fooling
As my ashes are cooling
That its far too late for regret.

And there is no point in bawling
As the Devil is calling
Me for our appointment.

And I’ll spit in the Devil’s eye
And ask myself why
Didn’t I check the small print.

And the Devil she just smiles
And says she gone the extra mile
When preparing my eternal torment.

But at the Devil I’ll smile not curse
And say this is hardly worse
Than the life I have just left.

Leave a Reply

