Marmite Covered Jelly-Babies – a love poem


You’re like a marmite covered jelly-baby
I don’t know why I’m drawn to you?
I think you think about me sometimes
So today I plan to fall in love with you.
You see I’m drawn to you like a moth to a flame
Like a rat to a discarded take away.
I’m always tongue tied in your presence
So what I love about you I can never say.
Like I love the fact you catch the train
When it’d be easier for you to walk.
I love the way you flick the V’s
At me, when all I want to do is talk.
I love the fact you mock the needy
Yet still give generously to charity.
I love the way you wear a bikini
Even though you don’t live by the sea.
You’re like a panda armed with a blade
I love you even though you’re bizarre.
You’re like a razor filled doughnut
So tempting but I fear you may scar.
I love you like a pig loves not being bacon.
I love you like a diabetic loves their insulin drug.
I love you like we love a song we love to hate.
Oh if only you understood.

4 thoughts on “Marmite Covered Jelly-Babies – a love poem

Leave a Reply

