Growing Pains, daughter inspired poetry day 2


Yesterday I shared my thoughts on my young daughter, the big changes going on in her life and how she inspires poetry. Today here is another poem which continues my  theme of being a bit worried about her !

On the window sill sits a plastic cup
Which holds a solitary sunflower seed
Planted in the well-thumbed potting soil
By my seven month old daughter.
Though I suspect she had some help,
From her ever patient child minder
As the plastic cup bears her name
Neatly written on a  peeling sticker.
And just like her the seed grows
Struggling to stand up straight
Requiring constant attention
And quite often worrying us all.

Leave a Reply

