The Thin Girl with a Box of Doughnuts


A brief burst of sunny weather in Birmingham yesterday bought the crowds out and with crowds always come ideas for poems. I saw the inspiration for todays poem at the bus stop on my way home and by the time I reached my front door this poem was bouncing around in my head.

The thin girl with a box of doughnuts
I wonder if
Sugar glaze
Has ever passed her lips?
Or saturated fat
Has ever threatened her hips?

The thin girl with a box of doughnuts
Is it true
That to you Vanilla cream
Is Body Shop shampoo?
And Blueberry cream
Merely the colour of your new shoes?

 

One thought on “The Thin Girl with a Box of Doughnuts

  1. Pingback: One and a half years of poetry « Skaggy the Poet

Leave a Reply

