Commuting


It will come as no surprise that as I spend a lot of time on the bus going backwards and forwards to work I get a lot of ideas for poems while doing so. As my memory isn’t what it used to be I have taken to generating some strange looks as when an idea flashes across my cortex I reach for my note-book and scribble it down.

20120808-171007.jpg

As you can see its hard to write neatly when commuting so here is the finished and readable version.

The window seat’s a keeper
For the traveling sleeper
Their head a nodding
And their body lolling
The bus shakes them
But it can’t wake them
As with an iPod on
They’re well gone
Forgetting the rat race
Briefly in a better place.

Leave a Reply

