The Power of Poetry


 

”Songs can produce a riot,”
The singer said.
”But poems can produce
A revolution.”

So I took pen and paper
Sat at my desk
Trying to write
A revolution.

Revolution it seems
Doesn’t come easy.
I feared I would lose my
Anarchist’s membership card.

So I put down pen and paper
Sat in my comfy chair
And decided I preferred
Peace and quiet.

The quote in verse one is taken from a poetry program starring of all people Cerys Matthews.

One thought on “The Power of Poetry

Leave a Reply

