Returning to Work.


 

The once blue carpet again under my feet
The familiar weight upon my shoulders.
Weary slow steps are taken to my desk,
Past the lift with the usual out-of-order sign.
Stale coffee smell from the grab and go,
Stale urine smell from the gents,
It’s like you’ve never been on leave,
Welcome back to work.

So the bank holiday weekend is just a passing memory and it’s time to return to work.  I wrote this poem as I trudged through the office this morning on my way back to my cell  desk.

Leave a Reply

